性能和可扩展性

Istio 以十分便捷且对应用程序透明的方式,为已部署的服务创建网络,提供完善的网络功能,包括:路由规则、负载均衡、服务到服务的验证以及监控等。Istio 致力于用最小的资源开销实现最大的便易性,旨在支持高请求密度的大规模网格,同时让延迟最小化。

Istio 的数据平面组件 Envoy 代理用来处理通过系统的数据流。控制平面组件如 Pilot、Galley 和 Citadel 负责配置数据平面。数据平面和控制平面有不同的性能关注点。

Istio 1.17 性能总结

Istio 负载测试网格包含了 1000 个服务和 2000 个 sidecar,全网格范围内,QPS 为 70,000。 在使用 Istio 1.17 运行测试后,我们得到了如下结果:

  • 通过代理的 QPS 有 1000 时,Envoy 使用了 0.5 vCPU50 MB 内存
  • 网格总的 QPS 为 1000 时,istio-telemetry 服务使用了 0.6 vCPU
  • Pilot 使用了 1 vCPU 和 1.5 GB 内存。
  • 90% 的情况 Envoy 代理只增加了 6.3 ms 的延迟。

控制平面性能

Pilot 根据用户编写的配置文件和系统当前状态来配置 sidecar 代理。在 Kubernetes 环境中,自定义资源定义(CRDs)和部署构成了系统的配置和状态。像网关和虚拟服务这样的 Istio 配置对象提供了用户编写配置的能力。Pilot 综合处理配置和系统状态,生成代理的配置信息。这些配置和系统状态源自 Kubernetes 环境和用户编写的配置文件。

控制平面支持数千个服务,分布在数千个 pod 上,所需的用户自有虚拟服务和其它配置对象的数量级与之类似。Pilot 的 CPU 和内存资源需求量与系统配置和可能状态的量级成正比。CPU 消耗的变化取决于以下因素:

  • 部署改变的频率。
  • 配置改变的频率。
  • 连接到 Pilot 的代理数量。

这部分本身是水平可伸缩的。当命名空间隔离选项被打开,一个单一的 Pilot 实例仅用 1 vCPU 和 1.5 GB 的内存就可以支持 1000 个服务和 2000 个 sidecar。你可以增加 Pilot 实例的数量来降低它花在推送配置到所有代理的耗时。

数据平面性能

数据平面的性能受很多因素影响,例如:

  • 客户端连接数量
  • 目标服务接收请求的密度
  • 请求和响应的体量
  • 代理工作线程的数量
  • 协议
  • CPU 核数
  • 代理过滤器的数量和类型,特别是 Mixer 过滤器

根据上述因素来度量延迟、吞吐量以及代理的 CPU 和内存消耗。

CPU 和内存

由于 sidecar 代理在数据路径上执行额外的工作,它需要消耗 CPU 和内存。以 Istio 1.17 举例,1000 QPS 会使用大约 0.5 vCPU。

代理的内存消耗取决于它的总体配置状态。大量的监听器、集群和路由会增加内存使用量。在启用了命名空间隔离的大型命名空间中,代理消耗大约 50 MB 的内存。

由于代理通常不缓存通过的数据,请求速率不会影响内存消耗。

延迟

由于 Istio 在数据路径上注入了一个 sidecar 代理,因此延迟是一个重要的考虑因素。 Istio 添加的每个功能也会增加代理内部的路径长度,并可能影响延迟。

Envoy 代理在向客户端发送响应后收集原始遥测数据。为请求收集原始遥测数据所花费的时间不计入完成该请求所花费的总时间。但由于 worker 正忙于处理请求,它不会立即开始下一个请求的处理。此过程会增加下一个请求的队列等待时间,并影响平均延迟和尾延迟。实际的尾部延迟取决于流量模式。

Istio 1.17 的延迟

在 mesh 内部,请求会依次遍历客户端和服务器端代理。在 Istio 1.17 的默认配置中(即带有遥测 v2 的 Istio), 两个代理分别在基线数据平面延迟的 90 和 99 分位延迟上增加约 1.7 和 2.7 毫秒。 我们使用 http/1.1 协议的 Istio 基准测试获得了这些结果, 测试标准是每秒 1000 请求,负载为 1KB,使用了 16 个客户端连接和 2 个代理 worker 并启用双向 TLS。

P90 延迟 vs 客户端连接
P90 延迟 vs 客户端连接
P99 延迟 vs 客户端连接
P99 延迟 vs 客户端连接
  • baseline 客户端 pod 直接调用服务端 pod,没有 sidecar 参与。
  • none_both 未配置 Istio 特定过滤器的 Istio 代理。
  • v2-stats-wasm_both 客户端和服务器 sidecar 配置了遥测 v2 v8
  • v2-stats-nullvm_both 客户端和服务器 sidecar 默认配置遥测 v2 nullvm。这是默认的 Istio 配置。
  • v2-sd-full-nullvm_both 导出 Stackdriver 指标、访问日志和配置了遥测 v2 nullvm 的边缘。
  • v2-sd-nologging-nullvm_both 同上,但不导出访问日志。

基准测试工具

Istio 使用下面的工具进行基准测试:

  • fortio.org - 一个恒定的吞吐量负载测试工具。
  • nighthawk - 基于 Envoy 的负载测试工具。
  • isotope - 一个具有可配置拓扑结构的综合应用程序。
这些信息有用吗?
Do you have any suggestions for improvement?

Thanks for your feedback!

Performance and Scalability

Istio makes it easy to create a network of deployed services with rich routing, load balancing, service-to-service authentication, monitoring, and more - all without any changes to the application code. Istio strives to provide these benefits with minimal resource overhead and aims to support very large meshes with high request rates while adding minimal latency.

The Istio data plane components, the Envoy proxies, handle data flowing through the system. The Istio control plane component, Istiod, configures the data plane. The data plane and control plane have distinct performance concerns.

Performance summary for Istio 1.9

The Istio load tests mesh consists of 1000 services and 2000 sidecars with 70,000 mesh-wide requests per second. After running the tests using Istio 1.9, we get the following results:

  • The Envoy proxy uses 0.35 vCPU and 40 MB memory per 1000 requests per second going through the proxy.
  • Istiod uses 1 vCPU and 1.5 GB of memory.
  • The Envoy proxy adds 2.65 ms to the 90th percentile latency.

Control plane performance

Istiod configures sidecar proxies based on user authored configuration files and the current state of the system. In a Kubernetes environment, Custom Resource Definitions (CRDs) and deployments constitute the configuration and state of the system. The Istio configuration objects like gateways and virtual services, provide the user-authored configuration. To produce the configuration for the proxies, Istiod processes the combined configuration and system state from the Kubernetes environment and the user-authored configuration.

The control plane supports thousands of services, spread across thousands of pods with a similar number of user authored virtual services and other configuration objects. Istiod’s CPU and memory requirements scale with the amount of configurations and possible system states. The CPU consumption scales with the following factors:

  • The rate of deployment changes.
  • The rate of configuration changes.
  • The number of proxies connecting to Istiod.

however this part is inherently horizontally scalable.

When namespace isolation is enabled, a single Istiod instance can support 1000 services, 2000 sidecars with 1 vCPU and 1.5 GB of memory. You can increase the number of Istiod instances to reduce the amount of time it takes for the configuration to reach all proxies.

Data plane performance

Data plane performance depends on many factors, for example:

  • Number of client connections
  • Target request rate
  • Request size and Response size
  • Number of proxy worker threads
  • Protocol
  • CPU cores
  • Number and types of proxy filters, specifically telemetry v2 related filters.

The latency, throughput, and the proxies’ CPU and memory consumption are measured as a function of said factors.

CPU and memory

Since the sidecar proxy performs additional work on the data path, it consumes CPU and memory. As of Istio 1.7, a proxy consumes about 0.5 vCPU per 1000 requests per second.

The memory consumption of the proxy depends on the total configuration state the proxy holds. A large number of listeners, clusters, and routes can increase memory usage. Istio 1.1 introduced namespace isolation to limit the scope of the configuration sent to a proxy. In a large namespace, the proxy consumes approximately 50 MB of memory.

Since the proxy normally doesn’t buffer the data passing through, request rate doesn’t affect the memory consumption.

Latency

Since Istio injects a sidecar proxy on the data path, latency is an important consideration. Istio adds an authentication filter and a telemetry filter and a metadata exchange filter to the proxy. Every additional filter adds to the path length inside the proxy and affects latency.

The Envoy proxy collects raw telemetry data after a response is sent to the client. The time spent collecting raw telemetry for a request does not contribute to the total time taken to complete that request. However, since the worker is busy handling the request, the worker won’t start handling the next request immediately. This process adds to the queue wait time of the next request and affects average and tail latencies. The actual tail latency depends on the traffic pattern.

Note: in Istio release 1.7, we are introducing a new way of measuring performance by enabling jitter in the load generator. It helps by modeling random traffic from the client side when using connection pools. In the next section, we will present both jitter and non-jitter performance measurements.

Latency for Istio 1.9

Inside the mesh, a request traverses the client-side proxy and then the server-side proxy. In the default configuration of Istio 1.9 (i.e. Istio with telemetry v2), the two proxies add about 2.65 ms and 2.91 ms to the 90th and 99th percentile latency, respectively, over the baseline data plane latency. After enabling jitter, those numbers reduced to 1.7 ms and 2.69 ms, respectively. We obtained these results using the Istio benchmarks for the http/1.1 protocol, with a 1 kB payload at 1000 requests per second using 16 client connections, 2 proxy workers and mutual TLS enabled.

P90 latency vs client connections
P90 latency vs client connections without jitter
P99 latency vs client connections
P99 latency vs client connections without jitter
P90 latency vs client connections
P90 latency vs client connections with jitter
P99 latency vs client connections
P99 latency vs client connections with jitter
  • baseline Client pod directly calls the server pod, no sidecars are present.
  • none_both Istio proxy with no Istio specific filters configured.
  • v2-stats-wasm_both Client and server sidecars are present with telemetry v2 v8 configured.
  • v2-stats-nullvm_both Client and server sidecars are present with telemetry v2 nullvm configured by default.
  • v2-sd-full-nullvm_both Export Stackdriver metrics, access logs and edges with telemetry v2 nullvm configured.
  • v2-sd-nologging-nullvm_both Same as above, but does not export access logs.

Benchmarking tools

Istio uses the following tools for benchmarking

  • fortio.org - a constant throughput load testing tool.
  • blueperf - a realistic cloud native application.
  • isotope - a synthetic application with configurable topology.
Was this information useful?
Do you have any suggestions for improvement?

Thanks for your feedback!