添加一个新版本的 reviews

在此模块中,你将部署 reviews 服务的一个新版本 v2,该服务将返回审阅人员提供的评分星级和评级颜色。 在实际场景中,在部署之前,您将在模拟环境中执行静态分析测试、单元测试、集成测试、端到端测试和验证。

  1. 部署 reviews 不带 app=reviews 标签的新版本微服务。没有此标签,将不会选择新版本 reviews 来提供服务。 因此,生产代码不会调用它。 运行以下命令部署 reviews 微服务的版本 2,再更换标签 app=reviewsapp=reviews_test

    $ curl -s https://raw.githubusercontent.com/istio/istio/master/samples/bookinfo/platform/kube/bookinfo.yaml | sed 's/app: reviews/app: reviews_test/' | kubectl apply -l app=reviews_test,version=v2 -f -
    deployment.apps/reviews-v2 created
    
  2. 访问你的应用程序以确保已部署的微服务不会破坏它。

  3. 从集群内部使用您之前部署的测试容器测试新版本的微服务。请注意您的新版本在测试期间访问微服务 ratings 的生产 Pods。 还需要注意,您必须使用 Pod IP 访问新版本的微服务,因为它还没有被 reviews 服务选中。

    1. 获取Pod IP:

      $ REVIEWS_V2_POD_IP=$(kubectl get pod -l app=reviews_test,version=v2 -o jsonpath='{.items[0].status.podIP}')
      $ echo $REVIEWS_V2_POD_IP
      
    2. 向 Pod 发送请求并查看它是否返回正确结果:

      $ kubectl exec $(kubectl get pod -l app=sleep -o jsonpath='{.items[0].metadata.name}') -- curl -sS "$REVIEWS_V2_POD_IP:9080/reviews/7"
      {"id": "7","reviews": [{  "reviewer": "Reviewer1",  "text": "An extremely entertaining play by Shakespeare. The slapstick humour is refreshing!", "rating": {"stars": 5, "color": "black"}},{  "reviewer": "Reviewer2",  "text": "Absolutely fun and entertaining. The play lacks thematic depth when compared to other plays by Shakespeare.", "rating": {"stars": 4, "color": "black"}}]}
      
    3. 连续发送10次请求来执行原始负载测试:

      $ kubectl exec $(kubectl get pod -l app=sleep -o jsonpath='{.items[0].metadata.name}') -- sh -c "for i in 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10; do curl -o /dev/null -s -w '%{http_code}\n' $REVIEWS_V2_POD_IP:9080/reviews/7; done"
      200
      200
      ...
      
  4. 前面的步骤确保您新版本的 reviews 可以正常工作,并且能够对其进行部署。 您将一个单副本的服务部署到生产中,因此实际生产流量将开始到达您的新服务。 在当前的设置下, 75% 的流量将到达旧版本(三个旧版本的Pod),而 25% 的流量将到达新版本(单个Pod)。

    要部署 _reviews v2_,请重新部署带有 app=reviews 标签的新版本,以便它能被 reviews 服务寻址。

    $ kubectl label pods -l version=v2 app=reviews --overwrite
    pod "reviews-v2-79c8c8c7c5-4p4mn" labeled
    
  5. 现在,您访问应用程序页面,并观察评级上的黑色星标。您可以多访问几次该页面, 发现有时返回的页面带有星级(大约25%的时间),有时不带星级(大约75%的时间)。

    Bookinfo Web Application with black stars as ratings
    Bookinfo Web Application with black stars as ratings
  6. 如果您在实际场景下遇到新版本有任何问题,可以快速取消部署新版本,仅使用旧版本:

    $ kubectl delete deployment reviews-v2
    $ kubectl delete pod -l app=reviews,version=v2
    deployment.apps "reviews-v2" deleted
    pod "reviews-v2-79c8c8c7c5-4p4mn" deleted
    

    留出时间让配置更改在系统中生效。然后,访问几次您的应用程序页面,现在看到黑色星级没有再出现。

    恢复新版本:

    $ kubectl apply -l app=reviews,version=v2 -f https://raw.githubusercontent.com/istio/istio/master/samples/bookinfo/platform/kube/bookinfo.yaml
    deployment.apps/reviews-v2 created
    

    多次访问程序页面,发现大约有 25% 的时间会出现黑色星级。

  7. 接下来,增加新版本的副本。你可以慢慢的,仔细地检查没有错误的数量增加。

    $ kubectl scale deployment reviews-v2 --replicas=3
    deployment.apps/reviews-v2 scaled
    

    现在,你可以访问几次您的应用程序页面,看到黑色星级出现的时间大约是一半。

  8. 现在,您可以停用旧版:

    $ kubectl delete deployment reviews-v1
    deployment.apps "reviews-v1" deleted
    

    访问该应用程序的页面将只返回带有黑色的评级。

在以上步骤中,您执行了更新 reviews。首先,你发布了新版本且没有发送模拟生产流量。 您在生产环境中使用测试流量对其进行了测试。您检查了新版本是否提供正确的结果。 您发布了新版本,并逐渐增加其生产流量。最后,您停用了旧版本。

在这里,您可以使用以下示例任务来改进部署策略。首先,在生产中进行端到端测试。 这要求能够使用请求参数(例如使用存储在 Cookie 中的用户名)将流量驱动到新版本。 此外,对新版本的生产流量进行屏蔽,并检查新版本是否提供了错误的结果或者产生了错误。 最后,获得对部署的更详细的控制。例如,你可以部署 1%,然后每小时增加 1%,只要服务没有被降级。 Istio 直接帮助你执行这些任务来增强 Kubernetes 的价值。有关部署的更多详细信息和最佳实践,请参阅 部署模型

在这里,你有两个选择:

  1. 使用 service mesh 。在服务网格中,您将所有报告、路由、策略、安全逻辑放在 Sidecar 代理中,并 透明的 注入到您的应用程序 Pod 中。业务逻辑保留在应用程序代码中,无需更改应用程序的代码。

  2. 在应用程序代码中实现所需的功能。大多数功能已各种库中提供,例如 Netflix 的 Hystrix 在 Java 编程语言中。 但是,您现在必须修改您的代码才能使用这些库。您的业务代码将膨胀,业务逻辑将与报告、路由、策略、网络逻辑混合在一起。 由于您的微服务使用不同的编程语言,因此您必须学习、使用和更新多个库。

参阅 Istio 服务网格 以了解 Istio 如何执行此处以及更多内容中提到的任务。接下来的模块中,您将探索 Istio 的各种功能。

您已经准备好 productpage 中启用 Istio

这些信息有用吗?
Do you have any suggestions for improvement?

Thanks for your feedback!

Add a new version of reviews

In this module, you deploy a new version of the reviews service, _v2_, which will return the number and star color of ratings provided by reviewers. In a real-world scenario, before you deploy, you would perform static analysis tests, unit tests, integration tests, end-to-end tests and tests in a staging environment.

  1. Deploy the new version of the reviews microservice without the app=reviews label. Without that label, the new version will not be selected to provide the reviews service. As such, it will not be called by the production code. Run the following command to deploy the reviews microservice version 2, while replacing the label app=reviews by app=reviews_test:

    $ curl -s https://raw.githubusercontent.com/istio/istio/master/samples/bookinfo/platform/kube/bookinfo.yaml | sed 's/app: reviews/app: reviews_test/' | kubectl apply -l app=reviews_test,version=v2 -f -
    deployment.apps/reviews-v2 created
    
  2. Access your application to ensure the deployed microservice did not disrupt it.

  3. Test the new version of your microservice from inside the cluster using the testing container you deployed earlier. Note that your new version accesses the production pods of the ratings microservice during the test. Also note that you have to use the pod IP to access your new version of the microservice, because it is not selected for the reviews service.

    1. Get the IP of the pod:

      $ REVIEWS_V2_POD_IP=$(kubectl get pod -l app=reviews_test,version=v2 -o jsonpath='{.items[0].status.podIP}')
      $ echo $REVIEWS_V2_POD_IP
      
    2. Send a request to the pod and see that it returns the correct result:

      $ kubectl exec $(kubectl get pod -l app=sleep -o jsonpath='{.items[0].metadata.name}') -- curl "$REVIEWS_V2_POD_IP:9080/reviews/7"
      {"id": "7","reviews": [{  "reviewer": "Reviewer1",  "text": "An extremely entertaining play by Shakespeare. The slapstick humour is refreshing!", "rating": {"stars": 5, "color": "black"}},{  "reviewer": "Reviewer2",  "text": "Absolutely fun and entertaining. The play lacks thematic depth when compared to other plays by Shakespeare.", "rating": {"stars": 4, "color": "black"}}]}
      
    3. Perform primitive load testing by sending a request 10 times in a row:

      $ kubectl exec $(kubectl get pod -l app=sleep -o jsonpath='{.items[0].metadata.name}') -- sh -c "for i in 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10; do curl -o /dev/null -s -w '%{http_code}\n' $REVIEWS_V2_POD_IP:9080/reviews/7; done"
      200
      200
      ...
      
  4. The previous steps ensure that your new version of reviews will work and you can deploy it. You will deploy a single replica of the service into production so the real production traffic will start to arrive to your new service version. With the current setting, 75% of the traffic will arrive to the old version (three pods of the old version) and 25% will arrive to the new version (a single pod).

    To deploy reviews v2, redeploy the new version with the app=reviews label, so it will become addressable by the reviews service.

    $ kubectl label pods -l version=v2 app=reviews --overwrite
    pod "reviews-v2-79c8c8c7c5-4p4mn" labeled
    
  5. Now, you access the application web page and observe that the black stars appear for ratings. You can access the page several times and see that sometimes the page is returned with stars (approximately 25% of the time) and sometimes without stars (approximately 75% of the time).

    Bookinfo Web Application with black stars as ratings
    Bookinfo Web Application with black stars as ratings
  6. If you encounter any problems with the new version in a real-world scenario, you could quickly undeploy the new version, so only the old version will be used:

    $ kubectl delete deployment reviews-v2
    $ kubectl delete pod -l app=reviews,version=v2
    deployment.apps "reviews-v2" deleted
    pod "reviews-v2-79c8c8c7c5-4p4mn" deleted
    

    Allow time for the configuration change to propagate through the system. Then, access your application’s webpage several times and see that now black stars do not appear.

    To restore the new version:

    $ kubectl apply -l app=reviews,version=v2 -f https://raw.githubusercontent.com/istio/istio/master/samples/bookinfo/platform/kube/bookinfo.yaml
    deployment.apps/reviews-v2 created
    

    Access your application’s webpage several times and see that now the black stars are present approximately 25% of the time.

  7. Next, increase the replicas of your new version. You can do it gradually, carefully checking that the number of errors does not increase:

    $ kubectl scale deployment reviews-v2 --replicas=3
    deployment.apps/reviews-v2 scaled
    

    Now, access your application’s webpage several times and see that the black stars appear approximately half the time.

  8. Now, you can decommission the old version:

    $ kubectl delete deployment reviews-v1
    deployment.apps "reviews-v1" deleted
    

    Accessing the web page of the application will return reviews with black stars only.

In the previous steps, you performed the update of reviews. First, you deployed the new version without sending it simulated production traffic. You tested it in the production environment using test traffic. You checked that the new version provides correct results. You released the new version, gradually increasing the production traffic to it. Finally, you decommissioned the old version.

From here, you can improve your deployment strategy using the following example tasks. First, test the new version end-to-end in production. This requires the ability to drive traffic to your new version using request parameters, for example using the user name stored in a cookie. In addition, perform shadowing of the production traffic to your new version and check if your new version provides incorrect results or produces errors. Finally, gain more detailed control of the rollout. As an example, you can deploy at 1%, then increase by 1% an hour as long as there does not appear to be degradation in the service. Istio enhances the value of Kubernetes by helping you perform these tasks in a straightforward way. For more detailed information and best practices about deployment, see Deployment models.

From here, you have two choices:

  1. Use a service mesh. In a service mesh, you put all the reporting, routing, policies, security logic in sidecar proxies, injected transparently into your application pods. The business logic remains in the code of the application, no changes are required to the application code.

  2. Implement the required functionality in the application code. Most of the functionality is already available in various libraries, for example in the Netflix’s Hystrix library for the Java programming language. However, now you have to change your code to use the libraries. You have to put additional effort, your code will bloat, business logic will be mixed with reporting, routing, policies, networking logic. Since your microservices use different programming languages, you have to learn, use, update multiple libraries.

See Istio service mesh to learn how Istio can perform the tasks mentioned here and more. In the next modules, you explore various Istio features.

You are ready to enable Istio on productpage.

Was this information useful?
Do you have any suggestions for improvement?

Thanks for your feedback!